Amy D., Librarian & Professional Trans Woman

alamw13_tag

First professional conference out and about post-transition. There was something really sweet about it that was completely unexpected and blindsided me… the badge… people yelling my awesome name to get my attention from far away… being properly introduced to colleagues’ colleagues… and catching up with old friends or colleagues who knew me pre-transition. And speaking in meetings as myself, feeling that others’ perceptions of me aligned much more closely with my own perception of myself than they ever have in the past. It was lovelier than I expected.

(cf. Arendt’s space of appearance, subject for future post)

This entry was posted in Trans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

